Kean University Department of Athletics and Recreation


1000 Morris Avenue
Union, N.J. 07083

Athletic Department
Harwood Arena
908-737-0600 (Phone)
908-737-0605 (Fax)

Athletic Training
D'Angola Gymnasium
908-737-5450 (Phone)
908-737-5455 (Fax)


Administration and Support Staff
Name Title Phone Email
Jack McKiernan Director of Athletics 908-737-0604 jmckiern@kean.edu
Denise Wujciak, MS, ATC Head Athletic Trainer/SWA 908-737-5454 wujciakd@kean.edu
Kimberly DeRitter Director of Sports Information/Compliance Officer 908-737-0615 kderitte@kean.edu
Jon McCue Assistant Sports Information Coordinator 908-737-0635 jomccue@kean.edu
Jay Sgaramella Assistant Director of Recreation, Intramurals, Facilities & Event Management 908-737-0611 sgaramej@kean.edu
Dawn Lawler Equipment Manager 908-737-0634 dlawler@kean.edu
Dr. Rich Bakker Faculty Athletics Representative 908-737-0652 rbakker@kean.edu
Alina Fiallo Secretary 908-737-0602 afiallo@kean.edu
Koceyda Hopkins Secretary 908-737-0631 khopkins@kean.edu

Athletic Training
Name Title Phone Email
Denise Wujciak, MS, ATC Head Athletic Trainer/SWA 908-737-5454 wujciakd@kean.edu
Peter DiStefano, MS, ATC Assistant Athletic Trainer 908-737-5458 pdistefa@kean.edu
Jayme Levine, MS, ATC Assistant Athletic Trainer 908-737-5452 levinjay@kean.edu
Brianna Lee, MA, ATC Assistant Athletic Trainer 908-737-5453 brlee@kean.edu
Iavana Parker, ATC Graduate Assistant 908-737-5450 parkeria@kean.edu
Rob Minlionica, ATC Graduate Assistant 908-737-5450 minlionr@kean.edu
Lisa Jones Senior Clerk Typist 908-737-5451 ljones@kean.edu

Intramurals & Recreation
Name Title Phone Email
Jay Sgaramella Assistant Director of Recreation, Intramurals, Facilities & Event Management 908-737-0611 sgaramej@kean.edu
Perry Schatzow Night/Weekend Supervisor 908-737-0638 pschatzo@kean.edu

Baseball
Name Title Phone Email
Neil Ioviero Head Coach 908-737-0614 nioviero@kean.edu
Jack Nagy Assistant Coach
Lewis France Assistant Coach
Frank Beckhorn Assistant Coach
Gary Galvach Assistant Coach
Steve Bucchignano Assistant Coach
Fred Hill Sr. Assistant Coach

Men's Basketball
Name Title Phone Email
Rob Kurzinsky Head Coach 908-737-0612 rkurzins@kean.edu
Jonathan Jones Associate Head Coach
Kyle Taylor Assistant Coach
Matt McDuffie Assistant Coach
Anthony Calabrese Assistant Coach

Women's Basketball
Name Title Phone Email
Mandy King Head Coach 908-737-0613 mking@kean.edu
Brian Erickson Assistant Coach berickson@kean.edu
Dana Peterson Graduate Assistant

Field Hockey
Name Title Phone Email
Leslie LaFronz Head Coach 908-737-0626 llafronz@kean.edu
Olivia Lopes Assistant Coach
Diane Boccella Graduate Assistant
Cliff Odendo Assistant Coach/Goalie Specialist
Stephanie Rios Assistant Coach

Football
Name Title Phone Email
Dan Garrett Head Coach 908-737-0628 dgarrett@kean.edu
John Liberato Offensive Coordinator/QB jliberato@kean.edu
Matt Kreider Defensive Line 908-737-0627 kreiderm@kean.edu
Nick Graff Co-Special Teams Coordinator/Strength & Conditioning/T.E. 908-737-0639 graffn@kean.edu
Joe Martucci Running Backs jmartucci@kean.edu
George Williams Defensive Backs/Safeties williamg@kean.edu
Dan Wollman Inside Linebackers wollmand@kean.edu
Chris VanFechtmann Co-Special Teams Coordinator/Cornerbacks vanfechc@kean.edu
Billy Kvalheim Wide Receivers kvalheiw@kean.edu
Nick Fuentes Kickers/Punters
Mark Zielinski Outside Linebackers
Mike Columbo Offensive Line
Anthony Mangan Graduate Assistant/Offensive Line mangaant@kean.edu
Matthew Jamison Graduate Assistant/Defensive Line jamisoma@kean.edu

Men's Lacrosse
Name Title Phone Email
Shelley Sheiner Head Coach 908-737-0629 sheiners@kean.edu
Mike Cleary Assistant Coach micleary@kean.edu
Tyler Russell Assistant Coach
Matt Schenck Assistant Coach
Russell King Assistant Coach
Nick Angrisani Assistant Coach
Dan Weidner Assistant Coach
Mike Criscitello Assistant Coach

Women's Lacrosse
Name Title Phone Email
Jordan Trautman Head Coach 908-737-0621 jtrautma@kean.edu
Bernadette Connor Assistant Coach bconnor@kean.edu
Ted Glynn Assistant Coach tedglynn@kean.edu
Meghan Schneck Graduate Assistant schneckm@kean.edu

Men's Soccer
Name Title Phone Email
John Velasco Interim Head Coach 908-737-0608 jvelasco@kean.edu
Dennis Maldonado Assistant Coach
Vahan Martirosyan Assistant Coach
Merlin Villagomez Assistant Coach
Carlos Baltodano Assistant Coach
Richard Zapata Assistant Coach

Women's Soccer
Name Title Phone Email
Brian Doherty Head Coach 908-737-0618 bdoherty@kean.edu
Michelle Zuber Assistant Coach
Jaime Manjarres Assistant Coach
Casey Garlasco Assistant Coach
Samantha Blair Graduate Assistant

Softball
Name Title Phone Email
Margie Acker Head Coach 908-737-0616 macker@kean.edu
Chrissy Yard Assistant Coach cyard@kean.edu
Nicole Scarillo Assistant Coach scarilni@kean.edu
Sarah Prezioso Assistant Coach
Kelly Moorehead Assistant Coach

Women's Tennis
Name Title Phone Email
Jodi Valenti Head Coach 908-737-0632 jodvalen@kean.edu
Brianna Martin Assistant Coach

Men's Volleyball
Name Title Phone Email
Charlie Ginex Head Coach 908-737-0674 cginex@kean.edu
Jimmy Pompeo Assistant Coach
Ed Jedziniak Assistant Coach

Women's Volleyball
Name Title Phone Email
Don Perkins Head Coach 908-737-0609 doperkin@kean.edu
Jimmy Pompeo Assistant Coach
Audrey O'Donnell Assistant Coach
Alix Denison Assistant Coach