No. 20 Field Hockey Falls to No. 16 Muhlenberg in ECAC Final

READING, Pa. (11/13/16) – No.16 Muhlenberg College topped No. 20 Kean University 3-0 in the Championship Game of the 2016 ECAC Field Hockey Tournament on Sunday.

Kean's Krista LaMaina, Lia DiPiazza and Kayla Molnar were each named to the All-ECAC Tournament Team.

The Mules took the early initiative on Sunday and got a goal just five minutes into the game. The rest of the half went by scoreless, with the teams combining for just seven total shots.

In the second half, two quick Muhlenberg goals within a minute of each other made the score 3-0 in a jiffy. Kean ramped up the pressure and took nine penalty corners in the second half alone, but could not break through against goalie Emma Rosenthal and the Muhlenberg defense.

Emily Boyle had a goal and an assist in the game for the Mules.

Erin Smith made seven saves for the Cougars in the game, and Katie-Lynne Lussier (pictured left) chipped in with a defensive save as well. Krista and Shauna LaMaina took three shots each to lead the team in that category.

With Sunday's game, Kean concluded arguably its most successful season in school history. The team's 18 wins are a new school record and its .818 winning percentage is also the highest in program history.